Five Faculty Members Inducted into the National Academy of Engineering of Korea

2020-01-07 311


Five POSTECH professors, including President Moo Hwan Kim, have been appointed as members and associate members in the National Academy of Engineering of Korea, the nation’s premier academic institute in engineering.

President Moo Hwan Kim, chosen as a member in the Materials and Energy Division, was recognized for his work on developing various measurement techniques and experimental devices in his research on two-phase heat transfer, a key mechanism in the nuclear industry. In the Mechanical Engineering Division, Professor Wan Kyun Chung was acknowledged for leading the development of the intelligent robot technology for diagnostic tests utilizing biotechnology.

Additionally, Professor Sei Kwang Hahn of Materials Science and Engineering, Professor Seongjin Park of Mechanical Engineering, and Professor Ki Jung Yong of Chemical Engineering (in alphabetical order) were designated as new associate members for 2020.

The National Academy of Engineering of Korea is the nation’s most prestigious academic institute in engineering. In addition to academic achievements, it evaluates candidates’ accomplishments across a range of areas, such as development of original technology, patents, and human resource development, then selects new members by written ballot of all academy members. A total of 45 members and 68 associate members were selected for 2020.