Professor Yong-Geun Oh Receives the Korea Science Award and Professor Junsuk Roh Receives the Korea Young Scientist Award

2019-12-13 405

[Korea’s Ministry of Science and ICT honors ‘Scientists of the Year’]


POSTECH professors Yong-Geun Oh and Junsuk Roh won prestigious awards at the 2019 Korea Science Awards, jointly hosted by the Ministry of Science and ICT of Korea, National Research Foundation, Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and Center for Women in Science, Engineering and Technology.

The Korea Science Award is presented to those scientists who accomplished outstanding world-class achievements in research by identifying fundamental principles in natural science. Professor Yongkeun Oh of Department of Mathematics (Director of IBS Center for Geometry and Physics) received the award for his research on mirror symmetry, widely applied in theoretical physics.


In addition, Professor Junsuk Roh was selected as the winner of the Korea Young Scientist Award, given to outstanding scientists under 40, who has made renowned research achievement and significant contribution to the development of science and technology.

The award was given to a total of 17 scientists including two Korea Scientist Awards, four Korea Young Scientist Awards and three Women Scientists of the year.